Short story — A camping adventure

I used to write fictional short stories when I was in 7th grade and that continued well until I graduated from high school. I found this one in my “stuff” as I was sorting this past week when I was visiting home.
Decided to publish it on my blog. It is from 12 years ago! Hope you enjoy it!

A CAMPING ADVENTURE

The African sun rose steadily spreading its golden rays in the vast land of Kilimanjaro. The glorious morning beauty stunned me. The chirping of the birds, the rustling of the leaves, the howling of the wolves and the hyena’s laughter filled the air with unsolved mystery, compelling me to wander a little bit interior, away from the camping site, in search of some excitement.

We had been strictly warned of moving into the woods without a guide, but curiosity got the better of me. I tiptoed away, leaving my buddies fast asleep. I came across a heard of antelopes with gorgeous streamlined bodies. I was amazed by the many species of animals and birds. What a wonderful world existed.

I was lost in these beautiful thoughts when I suddenly cause sight of a gorgeous golden mane. I couldn’t believe it! A lion lay hidden by a bush just a few miles away from me. Fear struck me like a thunderbolt. I wanted to run away as fast as I could but the fascinating sight glued me firmly to the ground. The lion turned its head and there lay a lioness and two cubs. What an amazing sight it was.

The pride was unaware of my presence and I was grateful for that. I wanted to retreat quietly when I caught a glimpse of the huge mighty elephant. The herd of elephants trumpeted noisily disturbing the peaceful pride. I held my breath and closed my eyes. I prayed for a miracle because I surely knew that if the pride headed my way, I would be dead meat!. After a few minutes, with nothing serious taking place, I slowly opened my eyes just to see the last elephant disappearing into the thicket and to my utter surprise, the lions were nowhere to be seen. What a relief!

Without thoughts of further temptations, I got back to the camp, safe and sound. The adventure within those short morning hours will last me a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

