Hello 2014!

Happy New Year!!!
Hoping everyone had a wonderful and safe new year’s eve.
I stayed indoors last night since I had nowhere to go and no one to really hang out with. But it was a nice relaxing evening.. bought myself some sushi and watched movies.. I even passed out before midnight with CNN on in the background! Am I getting older, I asked myself this morning! And although the answer to this question is a big yes, this is the first time in many years that I’ve felt a sense of peace at the beginning of a new year. I do not feel that life is just passing me by, I do not feel the pressure of “getting older”, I do not fear the uncertainties, I do not catch myself making resolutions and knowing in the back of my head that chances are those will not continue through the year.

This year feels like a different kind of year. I’ve just turned 28 at the beginning of December and for the first time ever, I truly feel that my thinking, my actions, my decisions, my aspirations, my choices are not child-like. I am looking at this year with open arms.. to soak in everything wonderful that it has to offer! This year will mark some big changes in my life and I can not wait to get on with it! My medical school journey is coming to an end this year, and all that I’ve experienced will come to a bittersweet end when I get that MD degree. However, the learning will go on for as long as I shall live! AND I’m getting married — the biggest step in my life yet! I am super excited and can’t wait to begin the rest of my life with the love of my life!

As far as resolutions are concerned, I don’t really have much going on other than some basic reminders for myself.. Pray often. Be grateful. Respect for parents. Abundant love for Arhaan. Relive childhood memories with my siblings. Continue to make my sister-in-law comfortable being part of our family. Write more. Eat healthy. Don’t ever stop eating cupcakes and chocolate and desserts. Go to the gym. Take lots of pictures. Use snail-mail. Make friends. Keep in touch with old friends. Be positive. Work hard. Read more. Help everyone. Do good. Stay true to yourself. Don’t care about what everyone says or thinks. Listen to your heart. And promise to love Saad even more than ever!

Have a great 2014!!!

Leave a Reply

